Sufjan Stevens Sugar
Sufjan Stevens

Sufjan Stevens new full-length project titled ‘The Ascension’ is scheduled to arrive streaming platforms September, 25 via Asthmatic Kitty Records.

Today, he serves another offering titled ‘Sugar’ prior to his recently released ‘America’ and ‘Video Game’ off the LP which serves as the follow-up to his 2015’s ‘Carrie & Lowell’.

“‘Sugar’ is ultimately about the desire for goodness and purity (and true sustenance), on the surface the song is just a string of clichés, but the message is imperative: now is the time to gather what is good and pure and valuable and make it your own, and share it with others. Feed your soul and speak new life into those around you. Give each other love, respect and sacrifice. Relinquish all the old habits, all the old ways of thinking and doing, all former practices—‘business as usual’—and bring new life to the world. This is our calling.”” Sufjan Stevens said in a statement.

The new single is accompanied by a choreographed official video. Watch below. Also checkout the tracklist to the forthcoming album below.

The Ascension Tracklist

1. Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
2. Run Away With Me
3. Video Game
4. Lamentations
5. Tell Me You Love Me
6. Die Happy
7. Ativan
8. Ursa Major
9. Landslide
10. Gilgamesh
11. Death Star
12. Goodbye To All That
13. Sugar
14. The Ascension
15. America