Pom Pom Squad Death Of A Cheerleader album tracklist Head Cheerleader

Pom Pom Squad have announced that they will be releasing a new studio album titled ‘Death Of A Cheerleader’ on 25th June. The Brooklyn band have also shared the tracklist for the forthcoming effort.

The set things up for the release, the group have shared the second track on the tracklist which you can find below ‘Head Cheerleader,’ which you can watch below. The entire project will feature just 14 tracks.

Speaking on the new video for the released song, the bands leader wrote, “The image of laying awake in a grave underneath plastic grass, a painted sky, and flowers growing from these creepy, textured structuresseemed to represent what I wanted out of a full length – something fierce and funny, dreamy, dark, queer… I think the video marks a turning point in my project in the same way it marked a turning point in my life. The song is about accepting yourself radically – I think the video explores that through a really fun campy lens.”

On the forthcoming album, she added “was an effort to lean into the overarching trope that makes Pom Pom Squad what it is – almost like parodying myself. Heart shaped lockets and scary cheerleaders and young adult chaos and self discovery and deep ungraceful discomfort.”

“I was also in a really complicated relationship at the time that really pushed me to come face to face with my sexual identity in a way I never had before. I had this realization that the life I was living was designed around receiving attention and validation from men – something I never truly wanted.”

“The result of that realization was like stepping out of an old skin. It changed the way I behaved in every aspect of my life.”

“I was finally making decisions toward my own self actualization instead of for other people’s perception. It was terrifying and exciting and necessary. This song feels like a celebration of the discomfort that comes with stepping into your new skin – your own power.”

‘Death Of A Cheerleader’ Tracklist:

1. Soundcheck
2. Head Cheerleader
3. Crying
4. Second That
5. Cake
6. Lux
7. Crimson + Clover
8. RWL
9. Forever
10. Shame Reactions
11. Drunk Voicemail
12. This Couldn’t Happen
13. Be Good
14. Thank You And Goodnight

For more in music, Watch Joyce Wrice ‘Overgrown’ Music Video