olamide album Uy Scuti

Nigerian indigenous rapper Olamide has shared his highly anticipated album Uy Scuti, the album comes barely seven months after the arrival of his previous project ‘Carpe Diem’.

The new project features just 10 tracks with guest appearances from Phyno, Jaywillz, Layydoe, and Fave. He previously shared ‘PonPon’ to set things up for the big release.

In a previous conversation with TheGuardian, Olamide spoke about the responsibility that comes with indigenous rap and why he kept on going, collaborating with different artists as long as it led to good music.

“Doing indigenous rap came with a lot of responsibilities because we had to come correct,” he says. “I knew I couldn’t do this alone: I was doing a lot of collaborations. A-list, B-list, whatever – I kept collaborating with everyone as long as I felt they were pushing and making good music.”

Over the years, Olamide has gone mainstream and become one of the greatest rappers out in Africa. He also spoke about growing up in Bariga, a sprawling northern suburb of Lagos, Nigeria, surviving hardships and learning from his hard roots.

“Bariga was not far from the other slums you see across the world, from Mumbai to New York and London – life in the ghetto is almost always the same everywhere. There were days when being able to afford three square meals was a big deal for my family. All of that motivated me to hustle hard – I wanted to see the whole world and experience different cultures from what I grew up seeing.”

Listen to ‘Uy Scuti’ below.

Uy Scuti Tracklist:

1. Need For Speed
2. Jailer Ft. Jaywillz
3. Rock
4. Julie
5. Rough Up Ft. Layydoe
6. Want Ft. Fave
7. PonPon Ft. Fave
8. Cup Of Tea
9. Somebody Ft. Phyno
10. So Much More